Formerly the north parish of Farmington, Avon was
primarily a farming community until its location at the crossroads
of the Albany Turnpike and Farmington Canal led to the emergence of
a commercial center. For 20 years, travelers on the Canal dined and
slept here on their way north. Exhibits of life along the Canal are
found at the Living Museum. The 1st Co. Gov. Horse Guards, founded
in 1778, is the nation's oldest cavalry unit. Avon Town Hall, 60 W.
Main St., Rte 44, Avon, CT 06001. (860) 677-2634.
Avon Chamber of Commerce, (860) 675-4832.
Acres of open space. Miles of Blue Trail. The most scenic stretch of the Farmington Valley Trail along the river. The Cider Mill. A one-room schoolhouse. Sessions Woods. The spring-fed Fish Hatchery. Nassahegan Recreation Fields. The unspoiled natural respite that is spectacularly Burlington.
Town Hall: 200 Spielman Highway, Burlington, CT, 06013, 673-6789, www.burlingtonct.us
A quaint slice of New England founded in 1806 in
the maple-lined western hills of the Farmington River Valley. Antique
homes and rustic barns are visible throughout the four villages that
comprise Canton and are enhanced by the river setting of the historic
Collinsville Axe Company, the center of a lively artist community.
The Victorian accoutrements of this authentic 19th century single
mill town are on display at the Canton Historical Museum. Canton Town
Hall, 4 Market St., Collinsville, CT 06022, (860) 693-7841, www.townofcantonct.org.
Canton Chamber of Commerce, (860) 527-9258, ext. 250.
In 1859, Turkey Hills separated from Granby to become
East Granby. In the early 1700s, America's first discovery of copper
occurred here. and Connecticut's first state prison was established
at the site of a copper mine in 1773. Tories were imprisoned in it's
dark cold tunnels during the American Revolution. Today you can walk
through these underground caverns at the Old New-Gate Prison &
Copper Mine. E. Granby Town Hall, 9 Center St., E. Granby, CT 06026.
(860) 653-2576. East Granby Chamber of Commerce, (860) 844-8636, P.O.
Box 1335, E. Granby, CT 06026. www.eastgranbycoc.org
email: [email protected].
Settled in 1640, Farmington is known for its history,
charm, stately homes, quaint lodgings superb restaurants, Miss Porter's
School, antiques, Farmington Historical Society, Unionville, Museum,
Shopping, ballooning, river rafting, and much more! The Stanley-Whitman
House exhibits Colonial lifestyes. The beautiful Hill-Stead Museum
contains Pope family treasures which include Impressionist works by
Monet, Degas, and Manet. Take a walking or bus tour which might include
events about the Revolutionary War, Tunxis indians, Amistad, or Underground
railroad. Come experience Farmington, past and present! Farmington
Town Hall, 1 Monteith Dr., off Rte. 4, Farmington, CT 06032, (860)
Farmington Chamber of Commerce, (860) 676-8490.
Some of Simsbury's earliest folks settled north along
Salmon Brook, and took that name when establishing their own church
society in 1739. A half century later, Salmon Brook along with Turkey
Hills became the town of Granby was primarily a farming town, as cash
crops were derived from apple orchards, dairy herds, and shade-grown
tobacco. Exhibits from the town's rural past are found at the Salmon
Brook Historical Society. Granby Town Hall, 15 N. Granby Rd., Granby,
CT 06035. (860) 653-8950. Granby Chamber of Commerce, (860) 653-5085,
P.O. Box 211, Granby, CT 06035. www.munic.state.ct.us/granby/
email: [email protected]
Located in the foothills of the Berkshires, New Hartford
is a quaint New England town of 6200 people. Winding through New Hartford,
the Farmington River, designated a "Natural and Scenic River"
offers canoeing, tubing, and year-round trophy trout fishing. In the
winter months, day and night skiing is available at Ski Sundown. Large
tracts of wooded land - including the Nepaug State Forest - offer
miles of hiking and breathtaking views. Additionally, a variety of
eating establishments, art galleries, antique shops, and a local winery
add to the allure of this beautiful town. New Hartford Town Hall,
530 Main Street, New Hartford, CT 06057. (860) 379-3389 www.town.new-hartford.ct.us
Simsbury is steeped in history and possesses great
natural beauty from the Farmington River's Tariffville Gorge to the
hiking trails that crisscross its hills. Simsbury is also home to
Connecticut's largest tree, the Pinchot Sycamore; a rare 19th century
iron bridge that blooms with colorful plantings each year and the
Phelps Tavern Museum & Homestead where visitors experience rural
New England tavern life from 1786-1849. Simsbury Town Hall, 93 Hopmeadow
St., Simsbury, CT 06070. (860) 658-3200, Simsbury Chamber of Commerce,
749 Hopmeadow St., Simsbury, CT 06070, (860) 651-7307. Simsbury Tourism
Committee (860) 658-4000.